Skip to content

More fortune cookie news

September 15, 2011

I swear I don’t actually live my life according to fortune cookies, but this one struck me. This is deep, man. This is profound. And for me, it’s definitely truth.

The pleasure of what we enjoy is lost by wanting more.
The pleasure of what we enjoy is lost by wanting more.

 

Chasing a big goal is a good thing, I think. The sustained hard effort pushes you, tests you, gives you both humility and pride, and teaches you more than you’d ever expect. However. When you’re chasing a big goal, it’s easy to discount and dismiss the small successes you have along the way. If you get an A in a class, you think, well, good, but I need a lot more of those to get my degree. If you lose 10 pounds, you say, well, good, but I still have a long way to go. If you get some interest from an agent, you think, well, good, but what it if ends in rejection?

See what happens there? It’s not that those things aren’t true, it’s just that we skip right over the good news and go immediately to the bad news.

When you’re chasing a big goal, what you have to enjoy is success — and little successes count. I have to remember: It’s important not to overlook or rush past those pleasures by wanting everything, right now.

Leave a Reply

