Skip to content

Want a free copy of “Shine”?

October 24, 2011

Remember the hubbub from last week about the YA book that got accidentally listed as a National Book Award finalist, and then the author was asked to withdraw? The book is called Shine, and the author is Lauren Myracle, and here’s a good recap of the whole mess.

Like many people, I was pretty indignant on the author’s behalf and so I went to check out the book, and it looked interesting. So I added it to my Amazon cart, but before I could complete the order, I got distracted and wandered off somewhere. Then I was at the bookstore this weekend and spotted it, so I bought it. But then today my husband used my Amazon account to order something and went ahead and bought all the stuff that was in my cart. SO. I have two copies of Shine now.

But in the time between picking it up at the bookstore and getting the “it’s on its way” notice from Amazon, something important happened: I read the book. It. Is. Fantastic. Chisel-cut characterization, language that sings, an absorbing story, a fresh viewpoint. I loved it.

So, I heartily recommend you take my extra copy and read it. If you want a shot at it, write a comment below. I’ll pick a winner randomly and contact you for your mailing info, so be sure you leave an e-mail address where I can reach you. Yes, you can enter even if you’re not in the U.S., because I’m cool like that.

2 Comments
  1. October 25, 2011 1:59 PM

    I’d love to win this since I wrote the GeekMom post about the whole debacle involving this book.

  2. October 25, 2011 10:35 PM

    Mandy, I think your chances are very, very good! 🙂 I’ll close this down tomorrow night.

Comments are closed.

