Skip to content

Not a winner (but I win)

November 30, 2011

OK, so I didn’t write 50,000 words this month.

I’m not too surprised, despite my semi-confident post about NaNoWriMo a few weeks back. I knew November was going to be a crunch with Thanksgiving travel and some crazy deadlines at the day job and so on. It got to me. I couldn’t keep pace.

BUT. I got 32,000 new words written this month, launching my new book quite nicely, and I think they’re mostly good words. I like how the story is shaping up, and I’m enjoying living in that world. If nothing else, NaNo forced me to dive deep into it nearly every day, and that has made the world very vivid for me. Several times while going about my business, I’ve caught myself having that vague “can’t wait to get back to that book” feeling I often get when I’m reading something good. I love getting that feeling about something I’m writing.

So, I’m happy and grateful to the nutty experience that is NaNo for pushing me this far, and I’m excited about continuing to push onward in the story, even through the December holiday madness.

To all who hit the 50K, I salute you! To those who didn’t, give your word count a proud pat and keep on going.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

