Skip to content

Things I loved in 2011

December 29, 2011

Not everything was great for me and mine this year. There was that big ice/snow storm that kept us trapped in the house for five days. A leaky pipe under the house that flooded the living room and part of the kitchen. A lot of rejection letters, a few pernicious earworms, and plenty of bothersome allergy attacks. BUT, all in all, we’re lucky and healthy and fine, so instead of complaining (any more), I’m taking a moment to look back at some of the things that made me happy this year. In no particular order, they are:

Mike and Tom Eat Snacks
My very favorite podcast — so funny and snack-ucational

7 Minutes in Heaven
Hilarious video interviews with somewhat unnerved celebrities

Noooope
The best commercial for taxidermy I’ve ever seen

The Magicians
OK, this came out in 2009, but I just discovered it this year. Mind-blowingly good.

Old Man’s War
OK, THIS came out in 2004, but I just read it this year, and it’s so fantastic I immediately read the sequels/follow-ups The Ghost Brigades and The Last Colony. News that it’s set to become a movie did break in 2011, so I’m counting it.

Learning Dutch
I tried out this language learning product for a GeekMom review, and I actually retained some Dutch! Mijn luchtkussenboot zit vol paling!

Sporcle.com
Love the quizzes; a great time-wasting site

New word my kid invented: Sneakretly
Sneakily + secretly = sneakretly

Hunger Games trailer
My excitement for this movie cannot be described in words. It’s more like an AAAAHHHHEEEEEE!!!! sound

“In Your Arms” video
Good song; amazing video made with jelly beans!

Attachments
Loved this delightful book

DamnYouAutoCorrect.com
OK, I discovered this last year, but it continues to reliably make me die laughing this year

“Tonight, Tonight”
This song somehow forces me to dance and be happy

Tiff’s Treats
Warm cookies, delivered. Only in Dallas and Austin right now, but hey, demand them in your city!

“I’m Reading a Book”
Funny and TRUE Julian Smith music video about being interrupted while reading

Adam Scott and Rob Lowe on Parks and Rec
I love Parks and Recreation, and I adore Adam Scott, and I had no idea Rob Lowe was so funny. Put them all together, and I faint with happiness.

Sleepwalk with Me
Very funny and compelling comedy album from the terrific Mike Birbiglia

Thanks for the great stuff, 2011! Can’t wait to see what 2012 brings, assuming that Mayan doom thing doesn’t pan out.

Leave a Reply

